Moderated Comments – Why?

I’ve considered the use of moderated comments on a blog for a long time. I suppose in some cases they are appropriate to filter out inappropriate material but in other cases, the blog authors have used them because they lack the ability to back up their opinions when challenged. I won’t drive any traffic to specific theoblogger sites but, in general, I’ve seen them posting nothing but attacks [written by someone else] on Arminian theology. Comments challenging the position are a waste of time since they go into the black hole of “awaiting moderation” and then disappear completely a day or two later. The appearance is that the author is unable to support his or her position but still wants the secret joy of an assault on something that they believe to be wrong.

I’m reminded of what Paul says in relation to raising oneself above the rest of the Body:

“For by the grace given men I say to everyone of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgement, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you.”  Romans 12:3

